Members only

In an effort to reach out and share the positive impact of video conferences in the classroom, I’ve been looking for education conferences that I normally would not attend.  My conclusion is that there are a lot of very insular conferences taking place.  In today’s connected society why do I find limits such as I found at several conferences where they require that I be a member of the organization?  I do realize that they need money to sustain the organization but isn’t my conference fee enough?  Why do I need to join a group to interact with them once?  Maybe I’ll like the group and join again but shouldn’t I decide that after we meet?  How do organizations grow if all of the speakers need to be members?

If knitters only spoke to knitters there wouldn’t be the plethora of knitting stitches available in the world today.  If knitters only shared with others in their circle it would be a far different group of people.  Education should learn from knitters…if they see someone with yarn a conversation is started.  If educators see someone with an idea, they should start a conversation, too…and not force that person to be a member.

Leave a Reply

