The Holidays are here!

I finished a doll’s blanket and a shopping bag to give as presents and will be looking for the parts of reindeer that I knit last year to be assembled this year.  After sewing a full bedroom set, pajamas for two year olds, and helping with a set of ten stockings, what do I want to do…more knitting, please.  The quiet repetition is calming and watching the yarn (or plarn) change form is exciting.  I’ve read that other people consider knitting much like meditation and I can see why.  Well, usually…finding a dropped stitch or having to rip out several rows because I miscounted a pattern is not soothing at all but it is a lesson learned.

I’ve found out a lot about myself through my approach to knitting.  I re-established myself as a knitter after many years not with a scarf or a hat.  No, I started with a sweater – a full tunic length with a twisted rib pattern.  Next was an argyle for my son which took much longer than I anticipated because I never stopped to think about what I didn’t know about argyle. In each of these garments there was a pattern that took shape from following the instructions but I had to work through the first several repeats before I could see it.  Now that I have been knitting for a while I see the pattern more clearly in my head before I need to go through the process several times.  Looking back through other parts of my life I see a pattern that I hadn’t noticed before – I jump in and then look for the patterns.   Once I see the patterns, I’m on to another task or project.  I do admire those who can create the same item many times but it’s not in the cards for me.

So, the question arises for me, is this a result of the training I had over the years as a student or is this my personality?

Leave a Reply

