Adding some yarn

I have been asking the world what they did in school this past week in school that was fun on Twitter.  Got a few nibbles so I posted the same question this week (#mostfunthisweek) and will keep it going through the school year to see what grows.  It feels like the first few rows of knitting when you think you have all the stitches on the needle and the yarn isn’t twisted but you’re still not sure if you have it right ’til you finish the first two rows.  Hopefully the responses will turn into a virtual sweater that will warm the hearts of educators.

On the yarn knitting side of life, I have completed my second shopping bag made of shopping bags using a different plastic and really like it better than the first.  It’s softer!  Who knew that plastic could be described that way?  I am now eyeing any plastic bags that come into sight with a new point of view.  I am finding that the dry cleaner bag is offering some potential as it has the weight and feel of the department store bag but is clear…could offer an interesting result.  But, oh, I have several sweaters to complete….

I wonder if my knitting style could be transferred to one of the personality dimension tools that we use in education for looking at different learning styles.  I know that I am quite the random thinker and that certainly correlates to the way I knit one piece for a while, change to another and then return to the first.  Maybe looking at the way our students work through their own hobbies will give us a window into how they absorb and synthesize information.

One response to “Adding some yarn

  1. Love the tie in between learning, teaching and knitting. keep exploring it and I think the connections you make will continue to be more and more meaningful.

Leave a Reply

